Möchten Sie diese Veranstaltung wirklich löschen?
Möchten Sie diese Veranstaltung freigeben?


SPP 1879 Progress Meeting

Nucleotide Second Messenger Signaling in Bacteria


Fri., Oct. 6, 2017 08:30am -
Sat., Oct. 7, 2017 1:00pm



Nucleotide second messengers are key components of the signal transduction networks that link sensory input with the regulatory output responses of all living cells. While research with bacteria has provided early textbook examples such as cyclic AMP and (p)ppGpp, which control genome-wide gene expression, the astonishing diversity, mechanistic complexity and pervasive roles of bacterial second messenger signaling have become apparent only recently. This dramatic progress has been triggered by the discovery of the cyclic dinucleotide c-di-GMP as a ubiquitous 'life-style' signaling molecule that promotes adhesion and biofilm formation while antagonizing motility of single planktonic cells. Moreover, c-di-GMP also controls bacterial cell cycle progression, development and virulence.

Our DFG Priority Programme SPP 1879 “Nucleotide Second Messenger Signaling in Bacteria" is the first systematic and comprehensive strategy ever to understand all fundamental aspects of second messenger signaling in bacteria. It includes projects dealing with the biosynthesis, turnover and functions of c-di-GMP, the 'classics' cAMP and ppGpp, as well as the very recently identified novel second messengers such as c-di-AMP, which will be studied from molecular, cellular, physiological, systems-level and ecological perspectives.

The SPP1879 Progress Meeting 2017 will bring together the SPP 1879 members, associated members and their co-workers in a stimulating meeting to share the most recent findings within their projects.

Further information

Organizer: Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge & Dr. Mihaela Pruteanu
Speakers: Dr. Gert Bange (Philipps-Universität Marburg); Prof. Dr. Anke Becker (Philipps-Universität Marburg); Dr. Fabian Commichau (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen); Prof. Dr. Nicole Frankenberg-Dinkel (Universität Kaiserslautern); Prof. Dr. Lars-Oliver Essen (Philipps-Universität Marburg); Prof. Dr. Ralf Ficner (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen); Prof. Dr. Susanne Häussler (Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Braunschweig); Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin); Prof. Dr. Urs Jenal (Biocentre Basel); Prof. Dr. Kirsten Jung (Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München); Prof. Dr. Volkhard Kaever (Medizinische Hochschule Hannover); Prof. Dr. Franz Narberhaus (Ruhr-Universität Bochum); Prof. Dr. Harald Schwalbe (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt); Dr. Sandra Schwarz (Universität Tübingen); Dr. Gerd Seibold (Universität Ulm); Prof. Dr. Lotte Søgaard-Andersen (Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology, Marburg); Prof. Dr. Victor Sourjik (Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology, Marburg); Prof. Dr. Jörg Stülke (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen); Prof. Dr. Kai Thormann (Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen); Dr. Natalia Tschowri (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin); Prof. Dr. Kürsad Turgay (Leibniz Universität Hannover); Prof. Dr. Patrick Viollier (University of Geneva); Prof. Dr. Jörg Vogel (Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg); Prof. Dr. Björn Voß (Universität Stuttgart) ; Prof. Dr. Daniel Wilson (Universität Hamburg); Prof. Dr. Annegret Wilde (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg); Dr. Gregor Witte (Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München); Prof. Dr. Jens Wöhnert (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main); Prof. Dr. Christiane Wolz (Universität Tübingen); Prof. Dr. Gottfried Unden (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz)
Sponsored by: DFG (SPP 1879)
Director: Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge


Dr. Mihaela Pruteanu
Phone: 030 2093-49689


Ihnestraße 16-20, 14195 Berlin
Room: Hahn-Hörsaal